Joe Jozwiak Special Achievement Award Nominations

It’s that time of year again to get your nominations in for the annual Joe Jozwiak Special Achievement Award.

How did this award get started?  Who does this award honor?

Many years ago, the late Joseph Jozwiak, a director of the IPA, made a suggestion that an award be bestowed upon an individual or group of individuals who have made a significant contribution or endeavor to enhance the promotion of polka music. After much discussion, the International Polka Association (IPA) voted to honor those worthy individuals with the establishment of the Special Achievement Award. To pay tribute to Joe Jozwiak, following his passing, this award was renamed the Joe Jozwiak Special Achievement Award.

Members of the IPA are invited to send in their nominations to recognize polka  personalities who might not otherwise be acknowledged for their dauntless contributions. Nominees can include DJs, polka writers, promoters, ballroom operators, etc.  Bands and musicians are excluded.

To submit a nomination, complete the form below, include a short biography of the nominees’ accomplishments that qualify him or her for this award and mail it to:

Joe Jozwiak Special Achievement Award, c/o IPA

PO Box 57758

Chicago, IL  60657

Nominations MUST be received NO LATER THAN DECEMBER 1st.  The IPA Board of Directors and Officers will then determine a winner.

Click here to print the Joe Jozwiak Award Nomination Form


The following is a list of those already nominated

Laura Bethke, Past IPA Financial Secretary, Newsletter Editor , Assistant to Polka Music Hall of Fame Chairman, Award Winning Writer and guest DJ, from the State of Illinois.

Ernest Daigle, DJ, Promoter and Director of PACC in Ludlow, MA from the State of Massachusetts.

Fran Fierst, Polka Promoter from the state of New Jersey, presenting many polka weekends.

Stas Golembowski, producer of public access TV program “Polka Time with Stas and Annie” from the state of Rhode Island.

T. Ron JasinskiHerbert, IPA Drector and producer of Polonia from the state of Illinois.

Thomas & Shirley Kalinowski, Polka Promoter and DJ from the state of Maryland.

Butch & Mary Kotowski, Dance instructors from the state of Maryland.

Dave Magdalik, DJ & Polka promoter from the state of Florida.

Julianne Mossak, Promoter and Chair for the Minnesota State Polka Festival from the State of Minnesota.

Eddie Ostry, DJ/IJ and polka promoter from Cleveland, Ohio.

Harold Otto, DJ & Chairman of Pulaski Polka Days from the state of Wisconsin.

Trudy Patek, President of the Versatones Polka Fan Club of Chicago from the state of Illinois.

John Piotrowski, Polka promoter from the state of Illinois.

Helen Ptak, Polka promoter from the state of Connecticut.

John Rivard, Editor and producer of The Texas Polka News from the state of Texas.

Stan Wilgocki, DJ and promotions for Polish New Castle Radio, polka promoter from New York.

Todd Zaganiacz, current president of Polka Jammer Network, DJ/IJ, owns music label, The Music Zone, from the state of Massachusetts.

Comments are closed.